Subscribe now and recieve 50% off all our ebooks as well as updates on all our online special needs resources.
Tzvi Schectman
BY Tzvi Schectman

Gluten Free Matzah: What is it and where can I get some?

Passover is coming and with it comes cleaning, preparation, cooking and more cooking.

The story of Passover is long and detailed (learn the story with all the details at In addition Passover comes packed with laws, customs and traditions.

As with every Jewish Holiday food is a big component and Passover is no different.

For individuals who are on a gluten free diet due to Autism, Celiac Disease or another condition we give you the rundown on gluten free Matzah and where you can find it.


Matzah is a hard, cracker-like bread made from a dough of only flour and water which has not been allowed to rise. It is eaten throughout the eight days of Passover and specifically during the Seder.

Oat Stalk

Oat Stalk

Matzah must be made from one of five grains: wheat, rye, oats, barley and spelt. Of these grains only oats that have not been processed with other grains are considered gluten free  (if the grains do co-mingle due to use of the same processing plants, grain elevators and transportation methods the oats will become contaminated with gluten).

If you or your child is on a gluten free diet you will need to look for Oat Matzah that is certified Kosher for Passover and gluten free.

Gluten Free Matzah

Matzah can be very expensive, especially when you are purchasing hand made matzah made with pure oats that are free of cross contamination. For this reason there are very few places in the world that sell gluten free matzah. We searched around and came up with theses online sites.

Gluten Free Oat

Based in Manchester, England, this Matzah Bakery was most likely the first one to offer Oat Matzah. Starting over 20 years ago with enough Oat Matzah for just 15 people now distributes to cites all over England, The U.S., Australia, South Africa, Belgium and Israel.

Lakewood Gluten Free MatzahLakewood Matzah

Based in Lakewood, New Jersey, Lakewood Matzah offers both hand made and machine made Oat Matzah (find the difference between the two here). You can find their Gluten Free Matzah in over 30 kosher stores accross the U.S.

Yehuda MatzahYehuda Matzah Style Squares

These Matzah squares are gluten free and Kosher for Passover. However since they are made from potato flour they are not from one of the five grains and are therefore unfit for use at the Passover Seder

Bonus: Gluten Free/Kosher for Passover Cookbooks

Kosher For Passover CookbooksA Taste of Tradition: Pesach – Anything’s Possible!

Over 350 gluten-free & wheat-free recipes. Does Passover make you panic? Do you struggle to find delicious wheat-free dishes? Are you tired of a “meat and potatoes” Pesach menu? Then this cookbook is for you.

Gluten Free Passover CookbookGluten Free Passover Cookbook

Chef Anne Luder shares over 75 recipes that follow the Ashkenazi tradition. The Gluten Free Passover Cookbook will “give you ideas & inspire you, lift your mood & show you how to make things you don’t think are possible at Pesach.

Passover By DesignPassover by Design

In this fifth cookbook in the celebrated Kosher by Design series, Susie Fishbein makes Passover preparations elegantly simple. Featuring a blend of Passover-adjusted Kosher by Design favorites, with over thirty brand-new recipes and full-color photos, this is one cookbook you’ll love to use throughout the holiday. While not exclusively Gluten-Free this cookbook includes 130 clearly marked gluten free recipes.

Wishing you a Happy Passover!

Tzvi Schectman

Written on March 26, 2012 by:

Tzvi Schectman is the Family Coordinator for the Friendship Circle of Michigan and the Editor of the the Friendship Circle Blog. You can connect with Tzvi on LinkedIn and Google+

Notice: Use of undefined constant fbTracking - assumed 'fbTracking' in /home/fcmichig/public_html/blog/wp-content/themes/fcblog17/footer.php on line 52